Tiny Moving Parts

Layover + Orchards

Saturday 14th Apr 6 p.m. Age 14+ On Facebook

UPRAWR LIVE PRESENTS

“Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” That well-known quote, often attributed to Dr Seuss, could also be the mantra that Tiny Moving Parts live by. It’s certainly a philosophy that the trio – who hail from the incredibly small town of Benson, Minnesota and were formed in 2008 by brothers Matt and Billy Chevalier (bass and drums, respectively) and their cousin Dylan (vocals/guitar) – applied while making their fourth full-length record, Swell. For while it’s an album that’s full of absence – lost love, lost friends, lost time – it looks for the positives. Instead of dwelling on those empty spaces, Swell instead recalls what was once in their place. “The album is about trying to be the best person you can be,” explains vocalist/guitarist Dylan Mattheisen, “and being as happy as you can in the world we live in. That’s been kind of the overall theme of our band – just trying to find the positive in shitty situations and keeping your head up.” To that extent, Swell is the next natural step in the Tiny Moving Parts catalogue. But if 2016’s Celebrate was almost unadulterated in that positive outlook, Swell finds the band – completed by Mattheisen’s cousins, drummer Billy Chevalier and bassist Matt Chevalier – a little bit darker, a little bit sadder. Its songs still manage to conquer and overcome those emotions, but there’s no denying that some of the situations described within them are pretty bleak.

SUPPORT FROM

LAYOVER

ORCHARDS

LIVE AT ASYLUM

Basket

Listen

Ryan Roxie
(Alice Cooper Band, Slash’S Snakepit)
Saturday 23rd Feb
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Uprawr
Alt Night Club
Saturday 23rd Feb
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Area 11
Misery Kids
Wednesday 27th Feb
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Uprawr
Alt Night Club
Saturday 2nd Mar
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Goldust
Spoken Word Event With Dusty Rhodes
Tuesday 5th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Uprawr: Legends Of Pop-Punk!
Pop-Punk Night!
Saturday 9th Mar
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Napoleon
Supports Tba
Friday 15th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Uprawr
Birmingham's Biggest Alt Night / Weekly
Saturday 16th Mar
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
The Hara
Supports Tba
Saturday 23rd Mar
2 p.m.
Age 14+
Cute Is.. & Red Jumpsuit Apparatus
Saywecanfly
Friday 29th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Black Parade
00'S Emo Anthems At The Asylum Birmingham
Friday 29th Mar
11 p.m.
Age 18+
Chop Suey! Nu-Metal Anthems
Limp Bizkit Special
Friday 29th Mar
11 p.m.
Age 18+
Stand Atlantic
Supports Tba
Wednesday 3rd Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Anaal Nathrakh + Akercocke
Supports Tba
Friday 5th Apr
7 p.m.
Rare Americans
Supports Tba
Saturday 6th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Long Beach Dub Allstars
Jaya The Cat
Tuesday 9th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Leah Mcfall
Supports Tba
Thursday 11th Apr
7 p.m.
Massive Wagons
Ryders Creed + The Rocket Dolls
Friday 12th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Jetski Babylon
Supports Tba
Saturday 13th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Frogleap
Supports Tba
Thursday 18th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Pearl Jamm
Pearl Jam Tribute Band
Friday 26th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 18+
The Picturebooks
Supports Tba
Friday 3rd May
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Can't Swim
Coast To Coast + Save Face
Wednesday 8th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Embers Of Eden
Orpheus
Friday 17th May
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Power Metal Quest Fest
Ancient Bards + Dakesis + More Tba
Saturday 28th Sep
noon
Age 14+
Evil Scarecrow
Supports Tba
Thursday 31st Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+