Tiny Moving Parts

Layover + Orchards

Saturday 14th Apr 6 p.m. Age 14+ On Facebook

UPRAWR LIVE PRESENTS

“Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” That well-known quote, often attributed to Dr Seuss, could also be the mantra that Tiny Moving Parts live by. It’s certainly a philosophy that the trio – who hail from the incredibly small town of Benson, Minnesota and were formed in 2008 by brothers Matt and Billy Chevalier (bass and drums, respectively) and their cousin Dylan (vocals/guitar) – applied while making their fourth full-length record, Swell. For while it’s an album that’s full of absence – lost love, lost friends, lost time – it looks for the positives. Instead of dwelling on those empty spaces, Swell instead recalls what was once in their place. “The album is about trying to be the best person you can be,” explains vocalist/guitarist Dylan Mattheisen, “and being as happy as you can in the world we live in. That’s been kind of the overall theme of our band – just trying to find the positive in shitty situations and keeping your head up.” To that extent, Swell is the next natural step in the Tiny Moving Parts catalogue. But if 2016’s Celebrate was almost unadulterated in that positive outlook, Swell finds the band – completed by Mattheisen’s cousins, drummer Billy Chevalier and bassist Matt Chevalier – a little bit darker, a little bit sadder. Its songs still manage to conquer and overcome those emotions, but there’s no denying that some of the situations described within them are pretty bleak.

SUPPORT FROM

LAYOVER

ORCHARDS

LIVE AT ASYLUM

Basket

Listen

Acm Summer Live
Genevieve Miles Music + Callum King + More
Thursday 25th Jul
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Chop Suey! Nu-Metal Anthems
Slipknot Special
Friday 26th Jul
11 p.m.
Age 18+
Black Parade
00'S Emo Anthems At The Asylum Birmingham
Friday 26th Jul
11 p.m.
Age 18+
Uprawr's Pop Punk Summer Party!
Uprawr's Massive Pop Punk Summer Party!
Saturday 27th Jul
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Uprawr
Alt Night Club
Saturday 3rd Aug
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Uprawr
Birmingham's Biggest Alt Night / Weekly
Saturday 10th Aug
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Y!Kes - Video Shoot / Free Entry Gig
Supports Tba
Friday 16th Aug
7:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Danny Wright
Supports Tba
Sunday 18th Aug
2 p.m.
Age 14+
An Evening With Awesome Kong
Spoken Word Event
Monday 19th Aug
5 p.m.
Age 14+
Danny Vaughn
Supports Tba
Friday 30th Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Jj Marsh Band
Buzzard
Wednesday 11th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Collateral & Piston
Supports Tba
Friday 20th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
The Hara
Supports Tba
Saturday 21st Sep
2 p.m.
Chon
Supports Tba
Wednesday 25th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Power Metal Quest Fest
Ancient Bards + Dakesis + More Tba
Saturday 28th Sep
noon
Age 14+
Nocny Kochanek
Supports Tba
Friday 4th Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Pelican
Supports Tba
Friday 18th Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Dream State
Supports Tba
Tuesday 29th Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Evil Scarecrow
Supports Tba
Thursday 31st Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Attila
Veil Of Maya + Sylar
Saturday 16th Nov
6 p.m.
Age 14+
Blackwater Conspiracy
Supports Tba
Sunday 17th Nov
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Jinjer
Supports Tba
Saturday 30th Nov
6 p.m.
Age 14+
Stray From The Path
The Devil Wears Prada + Loathe + Gideon
Monday 2nd Dec
7 p.m.
Age 14+
The Menzingers
Supports Tba
Friday 14th Feb
7 p.m.
Age 14+