This Wild Life

Rob Lynch

Monday 29th Sep 6 p.m. Age 14+

UPRAWR LIVE PRESENTS

This Wild Life

Hailing from Long Beach, CA, This Wild Life is duo Kevin Jordan and Anthony Del Grosso. Jordan and Del Gross grew up in the tightknit DIY punk scene in Long Beach. They quickly became friends after working at the same musical instrument store, bonding over music of their teens. The conversations were about hardcore, punk and scream bands such as Thursday, The Used, and Senses Fail. Soon enough, they started their own pop-punk band and made music together as This Wild Life. They played fast, they played loud and they didn’t stand out from the crowd until they did the least “punk” thing possible. It was also bolder than anything in the punk rock rulebook: they got quiet and played acoustically.

The music itself connected with fans, even as it surprised them. They take pride in making music based in hardcore and punk rock, but with wider appeal. In contrast to the harsh music that This Wild Life grew up on, Jordan finds inspiration for his vocals outside the hardcore punk world. “Sara Bareilles is one of my favorites. Maybe people wouldn’t expect that. Or maybe they would,” he laughs. 

Sleepwalking - Bring me the Horizon - This Wild Life acoustic cover

A big part of who they are as a band is to remain true to their DIY punk ethic. After shows are played, tweets responded to and comments acknowledged online. The band put in the work to gain the support of their fan base. Now, This Wild Life has an army of 80K YouTube subscribers with videos of over 2.75 million views.

Clouded is their debut full-length and was recorded with Aaron Marsh of Copeland. Clouded maintains the core attributes of their sound – Jordan’s vulnerable, expressive lyrics, DelGrosso’s nimble fingerpicking – while pushing themselves towards more ambitious sounds. “We tried out a string section, pianos, different kinds of guitars, we didn’t want to limit ourselves,” Jordan notes. 

Clouded is the triumphant result of years marked by small triumphs, big struggles and countless floor shows, bringing This Wild Life’s heartfelt, melodic and acoustic punk-rock to a bigger audience they’ve earned. 

SUPPORT FROM:

Rob Lynch


LIVE AT ASYLUM

Basket

Listen

Can't Swim
Out Of Love + Brookehorse + Blush Puppy
Tuesday 5th Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Vltimas
David Vincent + Rune Eriksen + Flo Mounier
Wednesday 6th Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Firekind & Loz Campbell
Foxpalmer
Friday 8th Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Uprawr
Alt Night Club
Saturday 9th Jul
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Metal To The Masses
Birmingham Grand Final
Sunday 10th Jul
4 p.m.
Age 14+
Uprawr
Birmingham's Biggest Alt Night / Weekly
Saturday 16th Jul
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Nebula
The Atomic Bitchwax + Alunah
Friday 22nd Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Marc Valentine
Continental Lovers
Friday 22nd Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Summer Smash 2022
Embodiment + More
Saturday 23rd Jul
4:30 p.m.
Uprawr
Alt Night Club
Saturday 23rd Jul
10:30 p.m.
Age 18+
Electric Milk
My-Hi + Second Cities + Feral Kings
Wednesday 3rd Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Kim Woojin
Support Tba
Thursday 4th Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Moretallica & Sack Sabbath
Uk Metallica Tribute
Friday 5th Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Uada & Panzerfaust
Support Tba
Monday 8th Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Covet
Support Tba
Sunday 21st Aug
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Adore Delano
Support Tba
Friday 9th Sep
6:30 p.m.
Age 14+
Muse & The Killers Tributes
Tribute Bands
Saturday 10th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Tumanduumband
Bile Caster + Bodach + Grunk + Hailz
Friday 16th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Oceans Ate Alaska
Invisions + Resolve + Kubrick
Friday 16th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Evergrey
Witherfall & Dust In Mind
Saturday 24th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Power Metal Quest Fest
Power Quest + Veonity + Stormrider
Saturday 1st Oct
noon
Age 14+
Chantel Mcgregor
Supports Tba
Friday 7th Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Florence Black
Support Tba
Friday 7th Oct
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Dis-Obey Clubnight
Disney Themed Nightclub
Friday 25th Nov
10 p.m.
Age 18+
L1nkn_P4rk
Uk's Leading Linkin Park Tribute Band
Saturday 26th Nov
6 p.m.
Age 14+
Kira Mac
Support Tba
Saturday 26th Nov
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Rising Merch Faces Of Death Tour
Archspire + Rivers Of Nihil + Allegaeon
Wednesday 30th Nov
6 p.m.
Age 14+
Being As An Ocean
Support Tba
Thursday 8th Dec
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Shadow Of Intent
Support Tba
Wednesday 11th Jan
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Bad Omens
Support Tba
Wednesday 1st Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Deez Nuts
Kublai Khan + Unity Tx + Rising Insane
Thursday 2nd Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Blood Youth & Cane Hill
Support Tba
Sunday 12th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Brother Firetribe & One Desire
Strale
Thursday 30th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+