Glasvegas

Supports Tba

Sunday 18th Apr 7 p.m. Age 14+ On Facebook

VMS LIVE PRESENTS

James Allan has a philosophy he applies to everything Glasvegas do: “If you follow your heart
and your instincts, it might be difficult and you’ll trip yourself up at times - but usually, it
works out.” With the band’s triumphant fourth album Godspeed, released on April 2021 on
their own label Go Wow Records, he put that maxim to the test, not only by choosing to
produce and engineer the record himself, but also going through the psychological toll of
“hundreds of nights up late, thinking about the person I am, the thoughts I feel, reasons why
I feel them. Making this album has probably made me understand myself a bit better as a
person, to be honest. And it’s the hardest I’ve ever worked on anything in my life.”
So while the seven-year gap between Godspeed and 2013’s Later... When the TV Turns to
Static might now seem “scary years ago,” for James, its long gestation period doesn’t feel
entirely unjustified. “I have this kind of oblivious nature about what’s achievable for myself,”
he admits. “Whatever I was before this album, I didn’t feel that was going to be enough
somehow. So the timeframe felt natural for me. It makes sense.” Allan began work on
Godspeed in 2014 when he was living in Sweden, and finished it in lockdown in his
spare-room studio in Glasgow’s east end. While the songs and arrangements haven’t changed
much from those early days, his own life certainly did - and the more time he spent working
on the album, the more its themes and characters seemed to coalesce into an unexpected
narrative.

LIVE AT ASYLUM
Tickets : £20.00
Buy

Basket

Listen

Microwave
Wallflower + Blis
Monday 15th Feb
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Imperial Age
Control The Storm + Midnight Prophecy
Thursday 4th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Kill The Lights
Supports Tba
Sunday 14th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Aesthetic Perfection
As Sirens Fall
Friday 26th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Pengshui
Kid Bookie
Saturday 27th Mar
7 p.m.
Age 18+
Framing Hanley
Supports Tba
Thursday 8th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Primordial
Naglfar + Rome
Sunday 11th Apr
6 p.m.
Age 14+
Landmvrks
Supports Tba
Tuesday 13th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Glasvegas
Supports Tba
Sunday 18th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Wolfheart
Mors Principium Est + Bloodred Hourglass + Atlas
Thursday 22nd Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Muse & The Killers Tributes
Tribute Bands
Friday 30th Apr
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Danny Worsnop
Sunday 2nd May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
While She Sleeps
Supports Tba
Friday 7th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Ingested
Vulvodynia + Vale Of Pnath + Bound In Fear
Tuesday 11th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Inglorious
Supports Tba
Friday 14th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Kublai Khan
Justice For The Damned + Antagonist A.D. + I Am
Saturday 15th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Green Lung
Juniper Grave
Friday 21st May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
3oh3
Supports Tba
Saturday 22nd May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
With Confidence
Supports Tba
Wednesday 26th May
7 p.m.
Age 14+
L1nkn P4rk
Linkin Park Tribute Band
Friday 30th Jul
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Moretallica & Sack Sabbath
Uk Metallica Tribute
Friday 24th Sep
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Power Metal Quest Fest
Power Quest + Veonity + Stormrider
Saturday 25th Sep
noon
Age 14+
Orange Goblin
Supports Tba
Wednesday 15th Dec
7 p.m.
Age 14+
Slade
Sons Of The Seventies
Saturday 18th Dec
7 p.m.
Age 14+